-5.7 C

Governor Kim Reynolds has issued a disaster proclamation for six counties in response to recent severe weather

Des Moines, IOWA – According to the statement, the disaster proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to, and recover from, the effects of this severe weather in Boone, Des Moines, Hamilton, Ida, Lyon and Webster counties.  
State officials also said that the disaster proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program for qualifying residents, along with the Disaster Case Management Program, for the six counties.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level for a family of three.

Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses.

Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery.

The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website here.

Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim. 

Latest Articles